VCLA International Student Awards

VCLAThe Vienna Center for Logic and Algorithms announces the first edition of the

VCLA International Student Awards

and calls for the nomination of authors of outstanding scientific works in the field of Logic and Computer Science, in the following two categories:

Outstanding Master Thesis Award

Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award

In both categories, the work must make an original contribution to a research field that can be classified as part of Logic in Computer Science, understood broadly as the use of logic as a tool that enables computer programs to reason about the world. The main areas of interest include:

  • Databases and Artificial Intelligence: Answer-Set Programming, Datalog, query languages, novel database-theoretical methods, logic programming, description logics, knowledge representation and reasoning, argumentation, planning, preferential reasoning.
  • Verification, ranging from model checking, program analysis and abstraction to new interdisciplinary areas such as fault localization, program repair, program synthesis, and the analysis of biological systems.
  • Computational Logic, proof theory, cut elimination, proof mining, interpolants, automated deduction, non-classical logics, computational complexity, SAT, QSAT, CSP.

The degree must have been awarded no earlier than November 1st, 2012. Students that obtained the degree at the Vienna University of Technology are excluded from nomination. The committee will select a winner for each category. The winners will be invited to Vienna to present their project and participate in a festive award ceremony. Additionally, the Outstanding Master Thesis Award category is accompanied by a prize of 1,200 Eur, and the Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award by a prize of 800 Eur. The decisions of the committee are not appealable.

More information and nomination instructions:

Important dates:
Nomination deadline: November 15, 2014 (AoE)
Notification of the committee’s decision: Mid January, 2015
Award ceremony: Spring 2015

Award committee

Ezio Bartocci Simone Bova Michael Fink
Robert Ganian Igor Konnov Tomer Kotek
Roman Kutzmets Magdalena Ortiz Revantha Ramanayake
Mantas Simkus Daniel Weller Florian Zuleger